THE 5 TYPES OF CONVERSATIONS YOU WILL HAVE IN JAPAN

THE 5 TYPES OF CONVERSATIONS YOU WILL HAVE IN JAPAN

(I like his 5th Conversation especially about the foreigners who live in Japan and don`t like anyone criticizing Japan. To my mind,
if I live somewhere, that entitles me to voice my opinion about that place, whether it be good or bad. I think we are all citizens of the world and do not have to like everything about a place, be it Japan, Canada or wherever. These foreigners who get angry with other foreigners for complaining about Japan or an aspect of Japan, I call them Japan Apologists, because they are not willing to see things in a neutral light and have to look at Japan through rose coloured glasses,….. OR ELSE! – Editor of The Minamiashigaran)

Now onto Carrigans article!

BY LIAM CARRIGAN

Next month it will be 9 years since I first moved to Tokyo and over the course of those 9 years I’ve met a lot of great people. I’ve also met some truly awful people and also probably more than my fair share of people I wish I had never met.

However, for budding amateur psychologists such as myself, the chance to meet and to learn from new people is always fascinating.

As in any kind of experiment, be it social or scientific, I have noticed various repeating patterns. In this context I am referring to those conversations we find ourselves having over and over again, and the types of people we continually encounter. Of course, generalizing people can be dangerous, however I think most of you who have been in Japan for any length of time will have encountered the types of people.

From my own experience, here are some of the most common scenarios, conversations and people I have encountered and I how I chose to deal with them. You may of course totally disagree with what I say here, but in the end debate is healthy, and hopefully we can provoke some discussion today. Read More

Leave a Reply

